Lutron Wood Blinds documents
Lutron's basswood blinds: the wired Sivoia QS blind with motorized lift and tilt, and the tilt-only Serena and Triathlon.
52 documents Newest revision first
Wood Blinds documents
About Wood Blinds
Lutron wood blinds are basswood slat blinds with a drive in the headrail. The electronic drive unit (EDU) tilts the slats and, on Sivoia QS, lifts them too.
- Sivoia QS (085262, rev G): wired; independent lift and tilt stored as presets
- Serena and Triathlon (085665, rev F): tilt only, with a cordless manual lift
- Both: tilt noise 44 dBA at 3 ft (1 m), up to 40 °C (104 °F)
- Not held: Palladiom, Palladiom Wire-Free, Commercial or Triathlon Select blinds
- Triathlon (3671319, rev K): 2-inch basswood slats, 12 stained, 6 painted finishes
Sizes and power
The guide below prints each blind's sizes, power and mounting depths from its submittal. Sivoia QS takes Class 2, 35 V DC; Serena and Triathlon run on batteries, 12 V DC or manual tilt.
Writing it into a tender
Attach submittal 085262 or 085665, cite the performance specification for Section 122113, Venetian Blinds, and add the power submittal. Power submittals: 085335 (QSPS-10PNL, one drive per output), 085329 (QSPS plug-in) or 085276 (12 V CSPS-P1-10-6 panel, ten 6 W outputs).
On site
Guides: 045480 and 045477 (valance) for Sivoia QS, 045836 for Serena and Triathlon, 045853 for Triathlon, 045848 for drive swaps. Note 048752 covers custom valance returns; Serena CAD drawings 085676 to 085692 carry mounts, valances, brackets and layouts.
Which Wood Blinds system to specify
Six systems, each with the case it suits and the limits Lutron prints for it. The source link opens the document that states them.
| System | Pick it when | Limits | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Sivoia QS | Wired QS link projects needing motorized lift and tilt, or blinds over 72 in (1829 mm) wide or 80 in (2032 mm) tall. |
| 085262Sivoia QS Wood Blinds Specification Submittal |
| Triathlon | Battery or wired 12 V DC tilt-only blinds in a Lutron system, or standalone on a Pico or 4-Group remote. |
| 085665Serena and Wood Blinds Specification Submittal |
| Serena | The same chassis for homes on Caséta, or standalone from a Pico or the 4-Group RF shade remote. |
| 085665Serena and Wood Blinds Specification Submittal |
| Manual | Serena and Triathlon chassis blinds with manual tilt and cordless manual lift, where no power or radio control is wanted. |
| 085665Serena and Wood Blinds Specification Submittal |
| Palladiom | No wood blind submittal in the library; brochure 3671319 describes Palladiom only as a roller shade system. |
| 3671319Sivoia QS Product Brochure: Residential Shading Solutions |
| Palladiom Wire-Free | No wood blind submittal in the library; brochure 3671319 describes the Palladiom Wire-Free roller shade as battery-powered. |
| 3671319Sivoia QS Product Brochure: Residential Shading Solutions |
1 Minimum width and maximum weight are not stated in submittal 085262.
2 Maximum weight is not stated in submittal 085665; the manual model's own limits are not stated either.
3 No document in the library describes a Commercial or Triathlon Select wood blind; ask New Way for Lutron's current submittal.
4 Warranty 368-5115 (rev C): eight years on the drive, fabric and hardware; one year on wall controls, interfaces and accessories.
5 Class 2 is the low-voltage power class, NEC Class 2, the supply must meet.
6 Noise is given in dBA, the standard sound-level unit.
7 The QS link is Lutron's four-wire power and communication cable.
Questions about Wood Blinds
Eight questions specifiers ask about Lutron wood blinds, answered from submittals 085262 and 085665 and the documents each answer names.
How wide can a Lutron wood blind be?
Up to 108 in (2743 mm) wide by 120 in (3048 mm) high for the Sivoia QS blind (085262).
- Serena, Triathlon (085665): single blinds 72 in (1829 mm) by 80 in (2032 mm)
- System width 96 in (2438 mm) as two blinds under one valance
- No minimum width printed; the 085665 battery table starts at 20 in (508 mm)
What is the difference between Sivoia QS and Triathlon wood blinds?
Sivoia QS (085262) lifts and tilts by motor on 35 V DC, both positions stored as presets.
- Triathlon (085665): motor tilt, hand lift; batteries or 12 V DC supply
- Triathlon: Clear Connect Type A radio; 72 in (1829 mm) by 80 in (2032 mm)
Brochure 3671319 adds Natural Light Optimization on Caséta, RA2 Select, RadioRA 3 and HomeWorks QSX.
How many batteries does a Lutron battery wood blind need?
Submittal 085665 sets the count by outside-mount width: 12 AA lithium from 20 in (508 mm) to 28 in (711 mm).
- 4 D-cell alkaline, 28 1/8 in (714 mm) to 42 1/8 in (1070 mm)
- 8 D-cell alkaline, 42 1/4 in (1073 mm) to 72 in (1829 mm)
- 12 D-cell alkaline with Battery Boost from 54 in (1372 mm)
Does a Lutron wood blind need a power panel?
Not always: the Sivoia QS blind (085262) takes 35 V DC from any listed QS supply.
- QSPS-P1-1-35V, QSPS-P2-1-35V or QSPS-P3-1-35V plug-in: one drive (085329)
- QSPS-J-1-35V junction box (085544); QSPS-10PNL, ten one-drive outputs (085335)
- QSPS-30PNL-NPM enclosure, up to thirty outputs (085592)
Serena and Triathlon (085665): batteries, or 12 V DC from panel 085276 or a CSPS-P1-1-6-WH, CSPS-P2-1-6-WH or CSPS-P3-1-6-WH plug-in.
How deep must the frame be for an inside-mount wood blind?
At least 2 in (51 mm) for an inside-mount Serena or Triathlon blind, 3 5/8 in (92 mm) or more for a full recess (085665).
- Sivoia QS (085262): jamb depth 2.75 in (70 mm) minimum for a full recess
- Sivoia QS pocket: 1.375 in (35 mm) clear before each bracket, 4 in (102 mm) deep
How high does a Lutron wood blind stack when raised?
Stack guide 3682573: 3 7/8 in (99 mm) for a 12 in (305 mm) blind, 8 1/4 in (210 mm) at 72 in (1829 mm).
- Measured from the bracket top to the bottom-rail underside
Lutron calls these estimates because basswood varies; wood blinds are not intended for pocket installation.
Which remote controls a Lutron wood blind?
Pico blind models S05 and S10 (369612), one CR2032 battery: tilt up and tilt down beside open, close and preset.
- 4-button Pico (369847): open, raise, lower, close, with a pairing table
- 4-Group RF remote (085314): four shade groups, two AAA batteries, 7 years
Submittal 085262 names both for Sivoia QS, via its wireless receiver or a QSM.
What valances does a Lutron wood blind offer?
Morgan and Easton for Serena and Triathlon (085665); Sutton, Royal and Harvard for Sivoia QS (085262).
- Morgan and Easton: up to 96 in (2438 mm) wide; standard 3.00 in (76.2 mm) return
- Sivoia QS returns: 2.75 in (70 mm) standard, 1 in (25 mm) to 10 in (254 mm)
